

#### RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING THE CONTRIBUTIONS OF THE DEPARTMENTS OF ENERGY, FINANCE, HEALTH, INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY, SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, TRADE AND INDUSTRY, AND THE PHILIPPINE SPACE AGENCY FOR THEIR MEMBERSHIP IN THE GOVERNMENT PROCUREMENT POLICY BOARD AND ITS INTER-AGENCY TECHNICAL WORKING GROUP UNDER REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9184

**WHEREAS**, Republic Act (RA) No. 12009, otherwise known as the "New Government Procurement Reform Act," took effect on 13 August 2024;

**WHEREAS**, Section 91 of RA No. 12009, the Government Procurement Policy Board (GPPB) shall be the central body that sets strategic direction and makes policy decisions regarding all matters affecting public procurement, having due regard to the country's regional and international obligations, and is tasked to lead the nation's efforts in advancing public procurement reforms;

**WHEREAS**, the same Section further provides the membership composition of the GPPB, which shall be composed of the Secretary of the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) as Chairperson, and the Secretary of the National Economic and Development Authority as Alternate Chairperson, with the following as members: the Secretaries of the Departments of Public Works and Highways, National Defense, Education, Interior and Local Government, and Transportation, or their duly authorized representatives; a representative from the Procurement Service-DBM; and a representative from the private sector, to be appointed by the President of the Republic of the Philippines upon the recommendation of the GPPB;

**WHEREAS,** with the effectivity of RA No. 12009, the new composition of GPPB member agencies has been established;

**WHEREAS,** in recognition of the invaluable contributions of the GPPB under RA No. 9184,<sup>1</sup>which included Department of Energy, Finance, Health, Information and Communications Technology,<sup>2</sup> Science and Technology, Trade and Industry, and the Philippine Space Agency,<sup>3</sup> the incumbent Board members acknowledge these member agencies for their significant contribution in leading key procurement reforms that have strengthened governance, through the formulation and development of proactive, responsive, agile, innovative, sustainable and efficient (PRAISE) procurement rules over the past twenty-one (21) years;

**WHEREAS,** based on the foregoing, the incumbent GPPB deems appropriate to recognize and commend the said member agencies, through their principal and alternate representatives, listed in Annex "A", for their exemplary support, expertise and leadership as GPPB members under RA No. 9184;

**WHEREAS,** the GPPB also recognizes the invaluable contributions of the Inter-Agency Technical Working Group (IATWG) under RA No. 9184 established through GPPB Resolution No. 09-2019,<sup>4</sup> composed of dedicated representatives from the aforesaid member agencies,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Section 64 of RA No. 9184, otherwise known as the "Government Procurement reform Act".

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Section 8 (h) of RA No. 10844, otherwise known as the "Department of Information and Communications Technology Act of 2015".

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Section 10 (h) of RA No. 11363, otherwise known as the "Philippine Space Act".

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> <u>https://www.gppb.gov.ph/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/GPPB-Resolution-No.-09-2019.pdf</u>

as listed in Annex "B." Their inputs and collaboration with the GPPB in developing the PRAISE rules were instrumental in ensuring the effective implementation of procurement reforms.

**WHEREAS,** the GPPB – Technical Support Office (TSO) recommended that this Resolution be routed for comments of the GPPB members within three (3) working days, with the provision that, if no substantial comments are received, the same shall be approved by the Members *ad referendum*. Otherwise, the matter should be elevated to the Board for discussion;

**WHEREAS,** considering that no substantial comments were raised by the Board members, the GPPB-TSO has finalized the Resolution for the approval by the Members of the Board *ad referendum*;

NOW, THEREFORE, for and in consideration of the foregoing, WE, the Members of the GOVERNMENT PROCUREMENT POLICY BOARD, by virtue of the powers vested on US by law, hereby RESOLVE to confirm, adopt and approve, as WE hereby confirm, adopt and approve this Resolution recognizing and commending the contributions of the Departments of Energy, Finance, Health, Information and Communications Technology, Science and Technology, Trade and Industry, and the Philippine Space Agency, through their respective principal and alternate representatives, as listed in Annex "A", and IATWG representatives, as listed in Annex "B", for their expertise and leadership through the formulation of PRAISE rules. These efforts have resulted in instituting timely policy reviews, strategic direction and interventions that significantly enhanced the public procurement landscape of the Philippines.

This Resolution shall take effect immediately.

**APPROVED** this 22 day of October 2024 at Quezon City, Philippines.

SGD

# GPPB, Chairperson DEPARTMENT OF BUDGET AND MANAGEMENT

SGD

#### NATIONAL ECONOMIC AND DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

SGD

## SGD

#### DEPARTMENT OF INTERIOR AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

DEPARTMENT OF NATIONAL DEFENSE

SGD

## DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND HIGHWAYS

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

SGD

SGD

#### PROCUREMENT SERVICE – DEPARTMENT OF BUDGET AND MANAGEMENT

PRIVATE SECTOR REPRESENTATIVE

## Annex "A"

# List of GPPB Principal Members

,

Agency Name	Head of Agency
Department of Energy	1. Secretary Raphael P. M. Lotilla
Department of Health	2. Secretary Teodoro J. Herbosa
Department of Finance	3. Secretary Ralph G. Recto
Department of Science and Technology	4. Secretary Renato U. Solidum, Jr.
Department of Trade and Industry	5. Secretary Alfredo E. Pascual
Department of Information and Communication Technology	6. Secretary Ivan John E. Uy
Philippine Space Agency	7. Director General Joel Joseph S. Marciano, Jr.

# List of GPPB Alternate Representatives

Agency Name:	Name of Alternate:
Department of Energy	1. Undersecretary Giovanni Carlo J. Bacordo
Department of Health	2. Undersecretary Emmie Liza Perez- Chiong
Department of Finance	3. Undersecretary Niño Raymond B. Alvina
Department of Science and Technology	4. Assistant Secretary Diana L. Ignacio
Department of Trade and Industry	5. Assistant Secretary Kristian R. Ablan
Department of Information and Communications Technology	6. Assistant Secretary Gerald B. Reyes
Philippine Space Agency	7. Director General Joel Joseph S. Marciano, Jr.
Private Sector Representative	8. Dr. Fiorello R. Estuar

Annex "B"

# List of GPPB-IATWG Representatives

Agency Name:	Name of IATWG:
Department of Budget and Management	1. Director Andrea Celene M. Magtalas
National Economic Development Authority	2. Director Kathleen P. Mangune
Department of Interior and Local Government	3. Director Elnora A. Velasco
Department of National Defense	4. Director Dinna Anna Lee L. Cartujano
Department of Public Works and Highways	5. Director Ma Victoria Gregorio
Department of Transportation	6. Assistant Secrectary Maria Paula B. Domingo-Tordesillas
Department of Energy	7. Director Arthus T. Tenazas
Department of Health	8. Ms. Joan Luz A. Lasmarias
Department of Finance	9. Director Angelica I. Sarmiento
Department of Science and Technology	10. Director. Angely Medalle-Alviar
Department of Trade and Industry	11. Director Joel R. Cruz
Department of Information and Communications Technology	12. Director Philippe D. Cortes
Philippine Space Agency	13. Director Sonia P. Cabangon